Imperfect Slice

Posted: April 17, 2014 in thoughts, writing
Tags: ,

As I lie in the dark, waiting for sleep to claim me, thoughts start running through my mind.

It has been almost three weeks since I resigned from my job. Three weeks of being lazy around the house. Reading. Trying to write. Cooking. Baking. Watching my favorite shows.

Three weeks of doing everything that I like and experiencing none of the stress I used to experience at work.

It has been a slice of paradise. But an imperfect slice.

For I know that this cannot continue.

I need to find another source of income. I cannot rely on my family to keep me afloat for more than several weeks. It’s just too embarrassing to do that.

But, it seems that things are not going as I would like them to go.

No word from the companies I applied to. Not even a slight sign of interest from any of them.

Even the freelance online gig that I am trying my hand in is not going well.

I find myself running out of options for now and that is scary.

So, yes. Troubling thoughts are what lulls me to sleep every night, in this imperfect slice of paradise I call my life. For now.

Leave a Reply

