A Few Minutes Ago

Posted: November 19, 2013 in passion, Q and A
Tags: , , , ,

Question of the Day: When was the last time you checked an online social network?

A few minutes ago.

You see, I have Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram applications in my phone.  And my daily routine, when I get home, is turn on my netbook then I check Facebook and Instagram on my phone while I wait for my netbook to boot up.

No matter what time I get home, this is what I usually do the minute my butt touches our couch.  Today, is not an exception.

So, yes.  A few minutes ago.  But, I don’t really consider myself addicted to any of these applications.  At least, not anymore.

I just like to check out what my friends are up to and if there are any interesting posts out there.  Especially now when some parts of the Philippines is still recovering or trying to recover from the damage that Haiyan caused.

Because up until now, there are still some heartbreaking and admirable posts from survivors, families of the survivors, families of the casualties of Haiyan, and the volunteers who were able to speak with some of them.

However, one of my favorite posts is not from any of those I mentioned above.  It’s from a volunteer or an organizer of a group who accepts and repacks relief goods.  It tells of a small street child who was willing to donate the money he earned from begging to those affected by Haiyan.

Let us all be Benjie‘s.

Whenever I read stories like this, I don’t regret the number of minutes I spend online because it reinforces my belief that Man is inherently good.

 

 

Leave a Reply

